Passport Rank
Congo (Dem. Rep.) Flag

Congo (Dem. Rep.)

Congo (Dem. Rep.) passport ranking

Democratic Republic of the Congo

The passport from the Democratic Republic of Congo currently ranks on the 97th place according to the Guide visa index. It provides visa-free access to 42 countries. The passport ranking has remained low during the past years. Congolese passport holders have visa-free access and visas on arrival to countries such as Philippines, Singapore and Kenya. Congolese citizens require a visa to enter 184 destinations in the world such as China, Russia, the United States and the entire European Union. This high visa requirement results in a very low mobility score.

Info box
Local Time
Phone Code
Congolese franc

The Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) is a former Belgian colony. Located in Central Africa, it consists of 25 provinces. It borders Zambia, Angola, the Republic of the Congo, the Central African Republic, South Sudan and Tanzania. The most important provinces are Kinshasa, Tshopo and Zongo. The DRC is the 2nd largest country in Africa with a surface area of 2.3 million square kilometers. Its climate is diverse due to its size but generally tropical with varying dry and rainy seasons. Its terrain is characterized by a large central basin, high plateaus and three mountains ranges.

The overall population is over 101 million people. The capital of the country is Kinshasa, which is also the largest city of the country with 14 million inhabitants. Other important cities are Mbuji-Mayi, Lubumbashi and Kananga. The largest airport is N’Djili International Airport (FIH). It connects the country to destinations across Africa, Belgium and France and named after the Ndjili River, which is close to the airport.

The DRC gained independence from Belgium in 1960. Its culture is dominated by a mix of traditions from multiple ethnic groups and the Belgian heritage. The main religion of the country is Christianity (95%). The official language of the nation is French, making it the most populous francophone country in the world. The legal system is based on the Belgian civil, customary and tribal law. The government form is a semi-presidential republic. President Felix Tshisekedi is the elected chief of state and the head of government is Prime Minister Sylvestre Ilunga. Elections take place every 5 years.

The official currency is the Congolese franc (CDF) with the current exchange rate being CDF 1,960 to the USD. The DRC has an open economy, generating a GDP of approximately $77 billion. This makes it the 17th largest economy in Africa. It has a per capita income of $843. The main GDP contributing sectors are services and agriculture. The main export products are coffee, copper, cobalt, gold and quinine. Further diversification is sought after by the government but is developing slowly.

The DRC is a growing tourism destination offering limited attractions. It is known for its wildlife and national parks. There are 5 natural UNESCO world heritage sites. The main tourist activities are primate such as gorillas tracking and animal watching. Some destinations are the Lola Ya Bonobo, the Kahuzi Biega National Park and the Nyiaragongo Volcano. The majority of the 350,000 yearly tourism visitors is originating from the neighboring African countries and Europe.

1 Countries
154 Countries


Patchy light rain with thunder
Patchy light rain with thunder
Moderate rain
Patchy rain possible
Moderate rain