Passport Rank
United Arab Emirates Flag

United Arab Emirates

United Arab Emirates Passport Ranking

The U.A.E. passport currently ranks on the 16th place according to the Guide Passport Ranking Index. It provides visa-free access to 178 countries. Emirati passport holders have visa-free and visas on arrival access to countries such as Austria, China, Denmark, Finland, Ireland, Italy, Luxemburg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland, South Korea, South Africa, and many other prime destinations around the world. That is the reason why the passport ranking is high on the overall worldwide mobility score. The remaining 51 countries for which a U.A.E passport holder requires to obtain a visa prior to entering is therefore expected to further drop. 
Info box
Abu Dhabi
Local Time
Phone Code
United Arab Emirates dirham

United Arab Emirates Passport Ranking

The United Arab Emirates passport ranking relative to other global passports is calculated by adding up the number of countries that allow United Arab Emirates passport holders to enter without a visa (i.e. visa-free countries) and those that allow United Arab Emirates passport holders to enter by obtaining a visa on arrival (i.e. visa-on-arrival countries) or an electronic travel authorization (eTA). There are currently a total of 133 United Arab Emirates passport visa-free countries, 40 United Arab Emirates visa-on-arrival countries, and 5 eTA destinations.

Altogether, United Arab Emirates passport holders can enter a total of 178 destinations—either without a visa, through a visa on arrival, or via an eTA. As a result, the United Arab Emirates passport ranks 16 in the world.

Separate from these United Arab Emirates visa-free countries and visa-on-arrival countries, there are 51 additional destinations which United Arab Emirates passport holders either need a physical visa to enter or an eVisa (i.e. visa required countries).

About United Arab Emirates

The United Arab Emirates (U.A.E.) is an Arab country consisting of seven emirates, located in the Middle East bordering Oman and Saudi Arabia. The seven emirates are Abu Dhabi, Ajman, Dubai, Fujairah, Ras Al Khaimah, Sharjah, and Umm Al Quwain. The country has a total surface area of 83,600 square kilometers. Its climate is mostly dominated by the desert, with cooler areas in the eastern mountains.

The overall population is 9.9 million people. The capital of the country is Abu Dhabi. The most populous city however is Dubai with over 3 million inhabitants. The largest airport is Dubai International Airport (DXB) with approximately yearly passenger traffic of 86 million people. DXB Airport is considered the number 3 busiest airport in the world.

Its culture is dominated by Islam with 76% of the population being Muslim and the official language being Arabic. The legal system is based on Islamic (sharia) law. The government form is a federation of monarchies with Sheik Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan as president. All seven Emirates are governed independently by their respective rulers. Matters of national importance are being decided in Abu Dhabi by the Cabinet, chief of state, and head of government.

The official currency of the country is the U.A.E. Dirham (AED). It is fixed to the USD guaranteeing exchange rate stability of AED 3.67 to the USD. The country has an open economy, generating a GDP of approximately $700 billion. It has a high per capita income of $70,000. Nowadays, 30% of the GDP is still originating from the petroleum and petrochemical sectors. The government focuses on the development of other sectors such as tourism to further reduce the dependency on oil and gas.

The United Arab Emirates is the tourism hub of the entire region. It is known for its many tourist attractions especially in Dubai and Abu Dhabi. Tourists visit the country for its warm climate, beaches, hotels, restaurants, and shopping outlets. Some of the major attractions include the Burj Khalifa, Dubai Mall, Burj Al Arab, the Louvre in Abu Dhabi, and Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque. The majority of the 16 million yearly overnight tourists are originating from Europe. It is closely followed by the neighboring GCC country visitors.

Abu Dhabi



Check if you need a visa

I have a passport from
I want to travel to


Check your passport ranking


Latest News and Articles

Japan to grant visa-free access to UAE citizens
28 September 2022
Japan to grant visa-free access to UAE citizens
Saudi Arabia launches tourist eVisa for GCC residents
1 September 2022
Saudi Arabia launches tourist eVisa for GCC residents
The US Extends Validity of Visitor Visa for Saudi Arabia Nationals to Ten Years
16 July 2022
The US Extends Validity of Visitor Visa for Saudi Arabia Nationals to Ten Years