Passport Rank
Mauritania Flag


Mauritania passport ranking

The Mauritanian passport currently ranks on the 81st place according to the Guide visa index. It provides visa-free access to 59 countries. The passport ranking has dropped over the past years from 58th place in 2006 to its current ranking. The government does however steady efforts of enhancing international relations. Mauritanian passport holders have visa-free access and visas on arrival to countries such as Indonesia, Philippines, Singapore, Sri Lanka and Iran. Mauritanian citizens do however require a visa to enter 167 destinations in the world such as China, Turkey, Russia, the United States and the entire European Union. This high visa requirement results in a low mobility score.

Info box
Local Time
Phone Code
Mauritanian ouguiya

The Islamic Republic of Mauritania is a former French colony. It is located in Western Africa and consists of 15 regions. It borders Senegal, Mali, Algeria and Western Sahara. The most important provinces are Hodh Ech Chargui, Noukachott-Sud and Noukachott-Nord. The nation is the 11th largest country in Africa with a surface area of 1,030,000 square kilometers, making it one of the larger sized countries in the continent. Its climate is of the desert type, being constantly hot and dry. Its geography is mostly flat terrain with some central hills.

The overall population is over 4.4 million people. The capital of the country is Nouakchott, which is also the most populous city with more than 1.1 million inhabitants. Other important cities of the country are Nouadhibou, Kiffa and Kaédi. The largest airport is Nouakchott-Oumtounsy International Airport (NKC). It connects the country to destinations across Africa, Turkey and France.

Mauritania gained independence from France in 1960. Its culture is dominated by the Islam and nomad influences. The majority of the country follows the Muslim religion. The official language of the nation is Arabic. However other national languages are also widely spoken such as French, English and Pulaar. The legal system is based on the French civil and Islamic sharia law. The government form is a presidential republic with President Mohamed Cheikh El Ghazouani as elected chief of state. The Prime Minister is Mohamed Ould Bilal as head of government. Elections take place every 5 years.

The official currency of the country is the Mauritanian Ouguiya (MRU) with the current exchange rate being MRU 37 to the USD. Mauritania has an open economy, generating a GDP of approximately $18 billion. This makes it the 39st largest economy in Africa. It has a per capita income of $4,563. The main GDP contributing sectors are services and agriculture. Gold, oil and iron ore are the biggest and most important GDP contributors. The majority of the population still depends on agriculture and livestock for survival.

Mauritania is a developing tourism destination offering limited attractions. It is known for its wildlife and historic desert sites. Some of the major destinations are the capital Nouakchott, Chinguetti, Atar, Terjit, Ouadâne, Zouérat and the Diawling National Park. The majority of the 4,000 yearly tourism visitors is originating from the neighboring African countries and France mainly through charter trips.


Partly cloudy
Partly cloudy
Partly cloudy
Partly cloudy
Partly cloudy